Kellia Rogers of KEBERO ~ A Style Incorporated Interview

Up-and-coming designer Kellia Rogers took some time out to answer questions for the Style Incorporated readers. Kellia describes the KEBERO customer as “the girl who is not married to one way of dressing or thinking. She has a life she has created. She is strong and feminine.” In the interview Kellia also talks about how her humble beginnings helped motivate her to keep moving forward with her goals, her personal style, and much more.

—–

Who is Kellia Rogers?

Kellia Rogers: I’m a dreamer and a free spirit…I’m loyal and I love hard…That applies to everything in my life. I’m an art, and film lover but most of all a Designer.

When did you know you wanted to become a fashion designer?

Kellia Rogers: I knew I wanted to be a designer very early on in life. I was always getting caught in class drawing and having letters sent home about it.

I read about your humble beginnings in your bio. You stated that you used your unemployment checks to create a dress collection for a fashion contest. How did this experience help motivate you to continue working in the fashion industry?

Kellia Rogers: That was a HUGE turning point for me. It honestly did the opposite of discouraging me as having to use my unemployment check to make a dream come true and not knowing what was next. I know struggle because after that I had such a hard time funding my everyday life. But my spirit wasn’t broken because I saw my dreams become true. I knew after that anything is possible. I have never stopped since. Everyday is work for KEBERO.
 
What other experience do you have in the fashion industry (stylist, retail, marketing, etc.)?
 
Kellia Rogers: I am not a Stylist or work in retail. All of my experience has come from designing for other brands from the bottom up and having great mentors in college like John Varvatos. I am ONLY a Designer. I just would never call myself a real stylist. Designers need stylist and stylist need Designers. One hand washes the other you know. I believe Stylist and Designers are very different. I know some don’t agree but to me we are so different. There is a of course a fawd kinship. A Designer styles a shoot differently then a Stylist would. The thought process is different.
 
How would you define your personal style? 
 
Kellia Rogers: It’s very much meant just for me meaning I never expect to see a twin dressed the same as me..I dress different everyday. It really follows my mood. But what I can say is it’s hard and soft at the same time a lot like KEBERO.
 
 Do you try to keep up with trends or create your own? 
 
Kellia Rogers: I don’t ever try to keep up with them in regards to KEBERO or even my personal style. It’s nice to appreciate some of the better trends but I never let a trend control me or my brand. Thankfully
 
What are some of your favorite fashion websites, magazines, or books?
 
Kellia Rogers: I love Refinery29, Nasty Gal, Shopbop as far as websites. I love Elle, Bazaar, V and Vogue.
 
What are some of your favorite stores to shop at?
 
Kellia Rogers: I love to Bergdorfs…it’s just dreamy but being a new designer and funding it myself for now I love the Century 21 and Loemanns and Daffy’s of the world. There are soo many small boutiques I run in and out of often too many to name.
 
What are some of the must-haves for the fall? 
 
Kellia Rogers: Riding Boots, Closed Toe Wedges and a Luxe Fur of some sort. Scarf , Jkt or Stole but there needs to be at least one piece in your closet.
 
Who or what inspires you?
 
Kellia Rogers: I am inspired by so many things at once. First more than anything else my dreams move me to create.I am inspired by Music, The Ocean, Nature and life. Oddly I’m extremely inspired by colored jewels lately. I see so many things in the colors and shapes. Old films and the occasional book help move me towards a creative place too.
   
How did you come up with the name KEBERO? 
 
Kellia Rogers: KEBERO is my name. It is the first two letters of my whole name. KE(first name) BE (middle name) RO ( last name).
 
Describe the customer that wears KEBERO?
 
Kellia Rogers: She is the girl who isn’t married to one way of dressing or thinking. She has a life she has created. She is strong and feminine.
 
Tell us about your design process. Do you prefer sketching designs or actually constructing them?
 
Kellia Rogers: I do a little of both. I always sketch out everything first details and all. Being as though I make my line domestically it enables me to work very closely with the sewers and pattern makers.
 
What are your favorite colors, patterns, and fabrics to work with and why? 
 
Kellia Rogers: I love Luxe fabrics. I’m all about soft Leather. But I love Matte Jersey, Silks and Jacardes.
 
What do you believe makes a quality article of clothing?
 
Kellia Rogers:It’s the little details that shows you the spirit of a garment. The linings the trim the little things that show you it was made from an emotion whether it be love or sadness.
  

What is the most difficult aspect of running your own fashion label? 

 
Kellia Rogers: Running the Label on a baby budget and never knowing where things will come from. But it always seems to work out so I never think it won’t. Also being smart about resources is something that is an everyday learning experience.
 
Tell us about future plans for yourself and your label KEBERO.
 
Kellia Rogers: I plan for myself and KEBERO both to flourish. Life is all about growth and at this point I believe that all I dream is just moments away. My dreams for KEBERO is for it to grow into a lifestyle brand.
   
What advice do you have for aspiring fashion designers?
 
Kellia Rogers: Believe in yourself and trust your Visions
 
Where can readers find out more about you and your work?
 
Kellia Rogers: They can visit my website www.KEBERO.com, follow us on twitter @kelliakebero and check us out on Facebook fan page KEBERO.
 
Check out the KEBERO Spring 2012 lookbook:
 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

