Who Should Be The October 2011 Style Icon? Vote

Below I have listed the nominees for the October 2011 Style Icon. I will do a post on the winner in three weeks so make sure you vote on whom you feel should win.

how to make gif

Solange Knowles

Solange Knowles is an actress, mother, song writer, musician and most notably Beyonce’s younger sister. Over the years Solange has morphed into a sought after fashionista. Solange notes ” her mother Tina Knowles, Diana Ross, The Fela Kuti Queens, Björk, ’70s-era Chaka Khan, Chloë Sevigny and ’90s Erykah Badu” as her style hero’s. Solange secret style weapon is, “Shoes! I’m all about the shoes! I order a ton of them online and play with my entire wardrobe until I find the right shoe.” Solange says if her style were summed up in one song it would be Q-Tip’s ‘Vivrant Thang.’ SOURCE

how to make gif
Rachel Bilson

Rachel had this to say about her style, “I’m constantly trying new things and experimenting,” says Bilson. So I never really settle on one style. By the time I figure out how to define my look, I’m usually ready to move on to something else. I’m a huge fan of Helmut Lang for everyday items that are comfortable, easy to throw on, and always look good. If I wear jewelry, it’s almost always one statement piece that feels like it could have been a family heirloom.”  SOURCE

animation maker

Gwyneth Paltrow

Gwyneth Paltrow style has not changed a lot over the years because she knows that simplicity is chic. Gwyneth has the minimalist trend down to a tee. Gwyneth also knows that sometimes wearing pieces in a popping color can make any person take notice. It seems  that Calvin Klein is her favorite designer as of now probably due to his less- is- more design ethic.

animation makerGenevieve Jones

Genevieve describes her style as, “It’s classic taken to the edge. I just like to have fun and think I look great when I walk out the house. I anticipate every designer’s new collection each season. I looovvve dressing up! I don’t have ‘bad days’ with frocks. I keep my already tiny closets half empty, filled, and spread out with only great pieces. I don’t have anything that practical and/or any fillers lurking around but I take my American Apparel very seriously!  I may wear the same outfit four days in a row but at least I’m confident it’s a really chic outfit.” Genevieve  on her fashion icons, My fashion icon is a tie between Charlotte Rampling and Donyale Luna. With Charlotte, it wasn’t so much about her style—she is just so beautiful, she personifies “cool.” It’s her spirit I find fashionably iconic. With Donyale, she embodied fashion and turned it into life. I saw a picture of her in black lace up thigh-high boots and black vinyl pants and I made my mom take me shopping on Decateur Street [New Orleans] to get that look the day I saw her. I fell in love… I was 14. Genevieve ‘s favorite designers include, “Marc Jacobs and Zac Posen (they get their own row). I love Rodarte, YSL, Christopher Kane, Balenciaga, Etro, Givenchy, Elise Overland, Alexander Wang, threeASFOUR, Thakoon, Kai Kühne, Jonathan Saunders, Bernhard Wilhelm, J. Mendel, Nina Ricci… Everybody!” SOURCE

Vote for who you think should be crowned “Style Icon.”

30 thoughts on “Who Should Be The October 2011 Style Icon? Vote”

  1. I precisely wanted to thank you very much once again. I’m not certain the things I could possibly have carried out without the actual concepts shared by you regarding such a subject. It became a daunting matter in my position, however , taking a look at the professional avenue you solved the issue took me to leap over delight. I am just thankful for your work and trust you find out what an amazing job you’re putting in training some other people through your web page. Probably you haven’t got to know all of us.

  2. Thanks for all your efforts that you have put in this. Very interesting info. “Never grow a wishbone, daughter, where your backbone ought to be.” by Clementine Paddleford.

  3. Great – I should certainly pronounce, impressed with your web site. I had no trouble navigating through all tabs and related information ended up being truly easy to do to access. I recently found what I hoped for before you know it in the least. Reasonably unusual. Is likely to appreciate it for those who add forums or anything, web site theme . a tones way for your customer to communicate. Excellent task.

Leave a Reply

